This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Manufacturing and engineering safety awards plea

25 November 2008

Businesses and organisations in the manufacturing and engineering industries should start preparing now for the 2009 RoSPA Occupational Health and Safety Awards to be sure they can meet the entry deadline.
Around 190 businesses in the manufacturing and engineering services industries were honoured at this year’s awards out of a total of 1,500 winners - a record for the awards programme, which has been running for more than 50 years and is the leading scheme of its type.

Manufacturing and engineering safety awards plea
Manufacturing and engineering safety awards plea

This celebration of health and safety good practice attracts businesses and organisations of all sizes and types, and they have until February 13 to submit their entries. But early preparation will help to avoid a last-minute rush.

Tom Mullarkey, RoSPA Chief Executive, said: “In the current economic climate, awards are more important than ever. They demonstrate that employers care about their employees and will not let slip their standards of health and safety practice even in tough times. They also offer a path to improvement which allows companies to adjust their pace of development to their own circumstances. By showing their determination to save lives and reduce injuries, our winners are an inspiration for others to follow.”

The majority of the awards are non-competitive and mark achievement which is graded at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Those demonstrating continued improvement can win gold medals, President’s Awards and Orders of Distinction.

The competitive awards go to the best entries in 21 individual industry sectors such as construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education. There are special awards for workforce involvement, training, occupational health, environmental management and the management of occupational road risk. There is a trophy for the best organisation operating or based in Scotland, and RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

The awards are sponsored by Nebosh – The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health. Presentations will take place from May 12 to May 14 at the Birmingham Hilton Metropole Hotel where there will be three prestigious gala dinners. The ceremonies run alongside Safety & Health Expo 2009 at the NEC.

Winners can also be presented with their awards at the RoSPA Scotland event held in Glasgow in September.

Entries are welcomed from all types of business or organisation, whether public or private sector, and there are many new entrants each year. RoSPA’s independent expert judging panel not only considers accident records, it also looks for high standards of management and safety performance.

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page