This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

IChemE past president awarded OBE

27 June 2011

The past president of the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE), Richard Darton has received an OBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List in recognition of his services to engineering. Darton is professor of Engineering Science at Oxford University, UK and is the current president of the European Federation of Chemical Engineering (EFCE). He is also an IChemE Fellow and member of Council.

The OBE, or Officer of the Order of the British Empire, is an order of chivalry established to honour those who serve the UK in a non-military capacity. Honours are given by Her Majesty the Queen on the advice of the government.

Commenting on the award, IChemE ceo David Brown said the award was well deserved and a tribute to Darton’s prolific career: “The award recognises Richard’s long and distinguished service to the profession, as a leading academic, in many capacities for IChemE, and currently as president of EFCE. Richard continues to be a strong supporter of, and a source of sound advice to, IChemE and a real asset to the chemical engineering community.”

Darton added: “In my career I have been privileged to work with outstandingly talented people – at Shell, at Oxford and in the professional and institutional world, all engineering is a team endeavour; you need individual creativity and drive of course, but you depend on colleagues to a huge extent. So I am greatly honoured by the award of an OBE – a pleasure for my family and friends – but I am conscious that my contribution has relied on the work of others. I regard it as an accolade for engineering.”

Others honoured include Frank Chapman, ceo of BG Group for services to the oil and gas industries; Paul Golby, ceo of Eon UK for services to the energy industry; Louise Kingham, ceo of the Energy Institute for services to the energy industry; Jean Llewellyn, ceo of the National Skills Academy for Nuclear for services to the energy industry; and Peter Moore, for services to the life sciences and chemicals industry in Scotland.

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page