This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

UK oil and gas industry safety awards 2013 finalists announced

02 April 2013

Oil & Gas UK and Step Change in Safety have announced the finalists for the prestigious UK oil and gas industry safety awards. The winners will be announced on Wednesday April 24 at the 2013 UK oil and gas industry safety event at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre, Bridge of Don, Aberdeenshire.

Finalists are as follows:

Safety Leadership
* Shona Campbell, subsea project manager for Gryphon Area Reinstatement Project, Maersk Oil UK 
* Elaine Hume, occupational health & safety coordinator, Marathon Oil U.K. LLC 
* Kent Lanier, rig manager, Rowan Drilling UK

Safety Representative of the Year
* Nicky Elphinstone, steward, Aramark 
* Keith Hay, plant operator / supervisor, Champion Technologies 
* Ian Murray, responsible electrical person (Ninian Northern), Petrofac / CNR International 

Preventative Safety Action
* Tony Bull, captain, CHC Helicopters 
* Les Morrison, manufacturing analyst, Champion Technologies 
* Scott McDonald, offshore electrician, Archer 

Most Promising Individual
* Marc Brankin, scaffold chargehand (MindSafety coach), Brent Decommissioning Project (Stork Technical Services) 
* Nick Hearn, graduate mechanical engineer, Nexen Petroleum UK Ltd 
* Carla McLeod, intelligent safety lead, TAQA Bratani Limited 

Innovation in Safety (Company Award)
* Stork Technical Services - Scaffolding innovation: Inertia reel anchor 
* Stork Technical Services and Banff & Buchan College - Temporary Refuge Testing City & Guilds Qualification 
* WEB Rigging Services Ltd 

Workforce Engagement 
* Derek Allan, project manager, Brent Delta Decommissioning, Shell UK Limited 
* Cosalt Offshore (UK) Limited, Onshore Facility 
* Global Producer 3 – Floating Production Storage Offloading (FPSO) vessel, Maersk Oil UK 

Ideas in Safety Prize
* Engineering Services team and the plant turnaround (TAR) team, BP International Ltd 
* No Leaks Team ‘No Leak Is Acceptable’ campaign, Expro 
* Control of Work Team, Petrofac 

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page