This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Health & Safety Executive chair appointed IChemE president

21 May 2013

The chair of the UK Health and Safety Executive, Judith Hackitt CBE, has become the Institution of Chemical Engineers’ (IChemE) 73rd president. She became president at IChemE’s annual general meeting (AGM) on 20 May 2013, taking over from Russell Scott.

Judith Hackitt has become the Institution of Chemical Engineers’ 73rd president.
Judith Hackitt has become the Institution of Chemical Engineers’ 73rd president.

Hackitt has been chair of the Health and Safety Executive since 2008 and is also a senior non-executive director of the Energy Saving Trust. She trained as a chemical engineer at Imperial College London in the 1970s and has held senior positions at the Chemical Industries Association (CIA), European Chemical Industries Council (CEFIC), Elementis PLC and Exxon Chemicals.

She was awarded her CBE for services to health and safety in 2006. She is a Fellow of IChemE and also a Fellow of The Royal Academy of Engineering.

Speaking of her appointment Hackitt said: “It gives me great pleasure to take on the role of IChemE President. I am proud of what the Institution, our profession and the industries that we serve have achieved. I recognise the need for IChemE to adapt and change in today’s fast paced environment. We must use all of the knowledge that has accumulated since our foundation in 1922 and nurture and preserve the vital lessons that have been learned through success and failure in the process industries.

“During my Presidential year and thereafter my focus will be helping prepare the next generation of engineers and leaders to deliver against the IChemE’s report Chemical Engineering Matters.”
Also at the AGM, Geoff Maitland, professor of energy engineering at Imperial College London was appointed deputy president of IChemE, and Steve Harrow, manager, process engineering at Foster Wheeler became a member of IChemE’s Council. Andrew Jamieson OBE, formerly a senior executive at Shell, has become honorary treasurer.

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page